February 21, 2018

Congratulations 2018 NCPH Award Winners!

Please join us in congratulating this year’s award winners for outstanding achievement in a variety of public history formats. We hope you will help us celebrate during the 2018 Annual Meeting at the Awards Breakfast on Saturday, April 21, at the Renaissance Las Vegas, 8:00 am – 10:00 am. For more detailed information on our award winners visit http://bit.ly/ncphawards2018.

NCPH Founders Award

The NCPH Council of Past Presidents developed the Founders Award in 2015 to recognize those individuals who were present at the creation of NCPH and who played critical roles in the organization’s success.

Suellen M. Hoy
Joel A. Tarr, Carnegie Mellon University

Board of Directors Award for Extraordinary Service

Awarded for the first time this year, the Board of Directors Award for Extraordinary Service is given when the NCPH Board seeks to recognize publicly an individual who has, through long-term and substantive effort, made transformational contributions to the work of NCPH.

Cathy Stanton, Tufts University

Outstanding Public History Project Award

This award is presented for work completed within the previous two calendar years that contributes to a broader public reflection and appreciation of the past or that serves as a model of professional public history practice. NCPH acknowledges the generous support of Stevie and Ted Wolf that makes this award possible.

Award Winner
The Mere Distinction of Colour, Elizabeth Chew and Christian J. Cotz, James Madison’s Montpelier; Chris Danemayer, Proun Design LLC; and Molly O’Brien, Northern Light Productions

Honorable Mention
Confinement in the Land of Enchantment: Japanese Americans in New Mexico during World War II, Sarah R. Payne, Colorado State University Public Lands History Center; Andrew Russell, Central New Mexico Community College; and Victor Yamada, New Mexico Japanese American Citizens League 

NCPH Book Award

For the best new book about or growing out of public history theory, study, or practice.

Award Winner
Andrew G. Kirk, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, Doom Towns: The People and Landscapes of Atomic Testing, A Graphic History (Oxford University Press, 2017)

Honorable Mention
Ronald Rudin, Concordia University, Kouchibouguac: Removal, Resistance, and Remembrance at a Canadian National Park (University of Toronto Press, 2016)

Excellence in Consulting Award

This award recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of public history through consulting or contract work.

Individual Award
Delia Hagen, Hagen Historical Consulting, African-American Heritage Resources in Helena, Montana

Honorable Mention
Ryan Shackleton, Know History, Métis Nation of Ontario

Wesley Johnson Award

Named in honor of the founding editor of The Public Historian, this award recognizes the most outstanding article appearing in the NCPH journal during the previous volume year.

Award Winner
Natasha Erlank, University of Johannesburg, for “From Main Reef to Albertina Sisulu Road: The Signposted Heroine and the Politics of Memory,” The Public Historian Vol 39, No 2

Honorable Mention
Gregory Rosenthal, Roanoke College, for “Make Roanoke Queer Again: Community History and Urban Change in a Southern City,” The Public Historian Vol 39, No 1

Student Project Award

This award recognizes the contributions of student work to the field of public history and provides assistance for conference travel costs.

Award Winner
Making History: Kansas City and the Rise of Gay Rights, Taylor C. Bye, Kathryn B. Carpenter, Samantha Hollingsworth, Leah Palmer, Kevin Ploth, and Jennifer Tufts, University of Missouri-Kansas City

New Professional Travel Awards

These travel awards assist individuals who are new to the field and practice of public history in attending the conference, helping them become more connected with other members of the profession early in their careers.

Historical Research Associates, Inc. (HRA) New Professional Travel Award
Kimber J. Heinz, Bull City 150, Duke University

NCPH New Professional Travel Award
Shakti Castro, BOOM!Health

Graduate Student Travel Awards

The Graduate Student Travel Award provides assistance for conference travel costs for five graduate students who will present a poster or will participate in a session or working group at the annual meeting. Congratulations this year go to:

Melissa Barthelemy, University of California, Santa Barbara
Aaron Hollis, West Virginia University
Nora Kassner, University of California, Santa Barbara
Hope Shannon, Loyola University Chicago
GVGK Tang, Temple University

A copy of the press release is available at http://bit.ly/2018ncphawardspress and a full description of the award winners is available at http://bit.ly/ncphawards2018.

Congratulations to this year’s winners!