Patrons and Partners
With the Generous Support of

New Professional Award

The National Council on Public History offers two $500 travel grants to encourage new professionals to attend the NCPH 2016 annual meeting: 2016 award winners will attend the meeting in Baltimore, Maryland, March 16-19. (New professionals are individuals, such as recent graduates of public history programs, who have been working within the public history profession for less than three years.) Each award recipient will  be presented with a certificate and a cash award during the awards breakfast at the annual meeting.  One of the New Professional Awards is underwritten each year by Historical Research Associates, Inc.  Award winners receive complimentary registration for for the awards breakfast.

2015 Award Winners

HRA New Professional Travel Award Winner
Rebecca Onion,

NCPH New Professional Travel Award Winner
Abby Curtin, Cleveland Restoration Society

Applicants must be members of NCPH, must have been practicing public historians for no more than three (3) years, and must have no institutional travel support to attend the annual meeting.

Submission Process
Applicants should submit a cover sheet, a current c.v. or resume, and a letter explaining how attendance at the annual meeting would be professionally beneficial. Applications will be judged on the strength of the c.v. and the persuasiveness of the letter.

E-mail submissions only.

The nomination may be emailed in ONE document to each of the the four New Professional Award Committee members and to State “New Professional Award” clearly in the subject line. Nominations must be sent in ONE complete document (MS Word or PDF).

Nominations must be received no later than December 1, 2015.  Late submissions will not be considered.

Questions?; (317) 274-2716

Past Award Winners

Since 2004, two awards are given, one of which is underwritten by Historical Research Associates, Inc.

2014- Susan C. Hall, Brea Museum & Heritage Center, and Ricardo Santhiago, Universidade Federal Fluminense

2013-Claire Jerry, Curator, Paul Findley Archives, Illinois College, and Caroline Muglia, Archivist, American Council of Learned Societies, Library of Congress

2012Lauren Brincat, Museum of the City of New York, and Julia Brock, University of California Santa Barabara

2011Erik Christiansen, Rhode Island College, and Nicole Annette Moore, Culture and Heritage Museums in Rock Hill, North Carolina

2010Alisha Cromwell, Living City Preservation, and Laura McDowell, The Mitchell Museum of the American Indian, the Newberry Library, and the Edgewater Historical Society

2009Meghan Bishop, Tyron Palace Historic Sites and Garden, and Santi Thompson, Thomas Cooper Library, University of South Carolina

2008Peter Friesen, Godiah Spray Tobacco Plantation at Historic St. Mary’s City, and John Dickinson, Georgia Historical Society and Costal Oral History Project

2007Leigh Cutler, Historical Research Associates, Inc., and Lee Wittmann, Independent Historian

2006Stephen Light, Columbia County Historical Society, and Kate Navarra Thibodeau, Wistariahurst Museum

2005Kris Woll, Gotham Center for New York City History, and Jennifer Ross-Nazzal, NASA Johnson Space Center

2004David Cline, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, and Allison Marsh, National Museum of American History

2003Brian Buff, Albany County Historical Association

2002Edward Salo, Geo-Marine, Inc.

2001-James Holton, Polk County Historical Museum

2000Michael Kelleher, Building Conservation Associates

First time presented in 1999 to Douglas Dodd, California Department of Transportation

Public History News Articles

New Professional Award Winners write an article for Summer/June issue of the NCPH newsletter, Public History News.

2011 Award Winners
Erik Christiansen (pg 10)
Nicole Moore (pg 10)

2010 Award Winners
Alicia Cromwell (pg 14)
Laura McDowell (pg 14)

2009 Award Winners
Meghan Bishop (pg 11)
Santi Thompson (no article available)

2008 Award Winners
Peter Friesen article (pg 8)
John Dickinson article (pg 8)

2007 Award Winners
Lee Wittmann article (pg 19)
Leigh Cutler article (pg 14)

2006 Award Winners
Stephen Ligh article (pg 9)
Kate Navarra Thibodeau article (pg 9)

2005 Award Winners
Kris Woll (pg 6)
Jennifer Ross-Nazzal (pg 6)

2004 Award Winner
David Cline article (pg 6)
Allison Marsh article (pg 6)

2003 Award Winner
Brian Buff article (pg 7)