NCPH Excellence in Consulting Award

Up to two $500 awards recognize outstanding work and contributions by consultants or contractors.

2018 Individual Winner

Delia Hagen, Hagen Historical Consulting, African-American Heritage Resources in Helena, Montana

Honorable Mention

Ryan Shackleton, Know History, Métis Nation of Ontario

2019 Submission Guidelines

The NCPH Excellence in Consulting Award recognizes outstanding contribution to the field of public history through consulting or contract work by recognizing professionals whose primary engagement with public history in the past five years is through consulting.  Up to two (2) $500 prizes in two categories (individual and group) will be awarded. Award winners will receive complimentary registration for the awards breakfast.


To be considered for the award, the applicant/nominee should submit a resume, synopses of consulting/contract projects in which the applicant/nominee played a significant role, and a sample of work to which the applicant made substantial contributions (such as a written work, public program, exhibit, or media project). Contract work sponsored or funded by NCPH is not eligible for consideration.


Nominations and supporting materials should specifically address these criteria:

  • value of contributions to a project’s intended public audience(s)
  • ability to serve client needs effectively
  • best practices in public history
  • contribution to the public’s understanding of history
  • intellectual rigor
  • originality and creativity

Submission Process

  1. Applications/nominations should include a resume, synopses of consulting contract projects, describe each contributor’s contribution, and a sample of work to which the applicant/nominee made substantial contributions.
  2. Examples of feedback from clients or the public (such as newspaper articles) are encouraged but not required.
  3. At the committee’s discretion, it may choose, in any given year, not to make an award in one or both categories if it feels that none of the applications/nominations rise to the level of excellence expected for this award.
  4. Winners are ineligible to apply or to be nominated for the three subsequent years after receiving the award.
  5. A total of four copies of all submission materials are required. Send this cover sheet and a copy of all materials to each of the Consulting Award Committee members and one to the NCPH executive office at: NCPH, 127 Cavanaugh Hall – IUPUI, 425 University Blvd., Indianapolis, IN 46202; [email protected] Clearly mark each submission, “NCPH Consulting Award.”  Please note that hard copy materials will not be returned.  Emailed submissions will be accepted for this award.

Nominations must be received (not postmarked) by December 1, 2018.

Questions?  (317) 274-2716; [email protected]

A challenge grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities makes possible our expanding awards program and other uses of earned income on the NCPH endowment. Any views, findings, conclusions or recommendations expressed in this website do not necessarily represent those of the National Endowment for the Humanities.


Past Consulting Award Winners

  • Jennifer Stevens, Stevens Historical Research Associates, “Idaho Power Centennial Project”
  • Alicia Barber, Stories in Place, LLC.
  • Eric John Abrahamson and Lois Facer, Vantage Point Historical Services, Inc., Rockefeller Foundation Centennial Book Series
  • Morgen Young, Alder, LLC, “Uprooted: Japanese American Farm Labor Camps During WWII”
  • The Excellence in Consulting Award was not awarded in 2015.
  • Matthew Godfrey, Paul J. Sadin, et al., Historical Research Associates, Inc., Privatizing Military Family Housing: A History of the U.S. Army’s Residential Communities Initiative, 1995-2010
  • Cathy Stanton, “Plant Yourself in My Neighborhood,” special ethnographic report for Martin Van Buren National Historic Site, National Park Service
  • Marla Miller, Anne Mitchell Whisnant, Gary Nash, and David Thelen, Imperiled Promise: The State of History in the National Park Service (Produced by the Organization of American Historians)
    • Honorable Mention-Jennifer A. Stevens, Historical Research Associates, Voices of Courage, Champions of Excellence: The Story of the Idaho Educational Association Since 1892
    • Honorable Mention-Virginia Adams, Kristen Heitert, Laura Kline, Stephen Olausen, Jenny Scofield, Public Archaeology Laboratory, Inc., National Historic Register Nominations
  • Morgen Young, Alder, LLC and William Green, Heather Jones, and Kimberly Nagle, S&ME, Inc.
    • Honorable Mention-John Durel and Anita Durel, Durel Consulting Partners
  • Patrick O’Bannon, Gray & Pape, Inc. – “Working in the Dry: Cofferdams, In-River Construction, and the United States Army Corps of Engineers”
  • Carl A. Merry, Marlin R. Ingalls, and Maria F. Schroeder, Office of the State Archaeologist, University of Iowa – “Iowa’s Historic Roads: A National Register Study of Pre-1948 Arterial Highways”
  • Christine Baron, Baron Educational Consulting
    • Honorable Mention – Susan Kline, Independent Scholar and Preservation Consultant
  • Manon Parry, National Library of Medicine
  • James Steely, SWCA Environmental Consultants
  • Douglas Littlefield, Littlefield Historical Research and Marya McQuirter, Independent Consultant