NCPH is turning 40 in 2020. join us in atlanta Virtually to celebrate!

3/10/2020 Update — It’s with the deepest regret that NCPH’s board of directors concluded today that we have no choice but to cancel our in-person #NCPH2020 meeting in Atlanta. Plans are in the works to shift some conference content to virtual spaces. Read our full update:

3/13/2020 UPDATE — read an update on the developing virtual meeting and the refund policy for NCPH 2020:

3/17/2020 UPDATE — If you were not previously registered for the in-person meeting but want to receive access to virtual content you can register for a flat $25 fee at The cancellation of our in-person meeting will have severe financial consequences for NCPH, and we appreciate your support throughout this process–and we hope you enjoy Virtual NCPH 2020!

Registration Information

REGISTRATION FOR NCPH 2020 is now closed.

Check out the 2020 Program


Early Bird
(rec’d by 2/5/20)
(after 3/4/20)
NCPH Member $180 $205 $218
NCPH Student Member $110 $130 $140
Nonmember $230 $250 $275
Nonmember Student $135 $155 $165
One Day $120 $140 $150
Guest* $40 $40 $44
View Details

Support NCPH 2020

Support your public history community and celebrate NCPH’s 40th birthday by sponsoring an event at our 2020 annual meeting, buying a booth in our exhibit hall at the Westin Peachtree Plaza, or purchasing ad space in our Program. You’ll make contact with 900+ conference attendees and over 20,000 people via our social media presence—a great way to show your support for your public history community and get the word out about your organization, institution, or services.

Check out the 2020 Marketing Guide to decide if supporting NCPH 2020 is right for you!

Have all the information you need?
Purchase a sponsorship here.
Purchase an ad here.
Purchase your exhibit booth here.

View Details

Travel & Lodging


The Westin Peachtree Plaza in downtown Atlanta, Georgia is the main location for NCPH 2020 conference sessions and events. The National Council on Public History has secured a block of rooms at the hotel at a rate of $195/night; reservations must be made by February 26, 2020. Please note that the block may fill before this date.

Please use the Westin’s online portal to reserve your room! You can also call the Westin Peachtree Plaza at (404) 659-1400 to request a room in the National Council on Public History’s block.

Update 1/23/20: The NCPH room block is very close to full on multiple nights of the conference. We are looking into an overflow block and will communicate that information as soon as it is available. We also anticipate some space opening up in that block as some student attendees are accommodated in a separate student block, and we’ll let you know via this website and the NCPH Twitter (@ncph) when this happens! You can also email NCPH Program Manager Meghan Hillman ([email protected]) to be notified if rooms become available.

View Details

Calls for Proposals


A lot has happened since NCPH’s call for session proposals closed last July. We have reserved space for important issues and discussions that might otherwise be missing on our 2020 program due to the eight-month gap between the primary proposal deadline and the conference itself. NCPH seeks brief proposals for discussions to be held onsite at our 2020 conference in Atlanta, Georgia this March 18-21. These “On the Fly” sessions are structured conversations held in session rooms during blocks of regular conference programming, providing space for attendees to discuss current events or issues that feel especially timely, important, or newly relevant. Check out the full CFP and volunteer to lead a conversation by filling out the form at

Call for Out on the Town proposals – Deadline February 21

We’re piloting a new program this year in Atlanta that’s designed to help you get to know Atlanta historical and cultural institutions and make new public history friends. You propose an Outing (say to a museum or historic site), let us know when you’d like to go and how many people you’d like to join you, and if accepted we’ll put out a sign-up sheet at the conference to help you connect with other registrants. Outings are subject to NCPH approval based on suitability and our capacity. Check out the full description and guidelines here, and propose an Outing via the form at

View Details

Program and Local Arrangements Committee Members

2020 Program Committee

Ashley Bouknight (Co-Chair), Historical Research Associates, Inc.
Brian Joyner (Co-Chair), National Park Service
Shakti Castro
Elon CookThe Center for Reconciliation, Rhode Island School of Design
Tanya Evans, 
(representing IFPH), Macquarie University
Shannon HaltiwangerHistory Colorado
Ari KelmanUniversity of California Davis
Joe McGill, The Slave Dwelling Project
Valerie Paley, New-York Historical Society
Rebecca Pattillo, University of Louisville
Philip Scarpino, (representing the NCPH 40th Anniversary Ad Hoc Commmittee), IUPUI
Jennifer Scott, Jane Addams Hull-House Museum
Michael Twitty, author
Adrienne Usher, Shapell Manuscript Foundation
Julia Brock, Local Arrangements co-chair
Amy Wilson, Local Arrangements co-chair

2020 Local Arrangements Committee

Julia Brock (Co-Chair), University of Alabama
Amy Wilson (Co-Chair), Independent Consultant
Jennifer Dickey, Kennesaw State University
Jina DuVernay, Stuart A. Rose Manuscript, Archives, and Rare Book Library, Emory University
Richard HarkerHistoric Oakland Foundation
Meredith Evans, Jimmy Carter Library and Museum
Jeremy Katz, The William Breman Jewish Heritage Museum
Adina Langer, Museum of History and Holocaust Education, Kennesaw State University
Ann McCleary, University of West Georgia
Nicole Moore, Center for Civil and Human Rights
Robin Morris, Agnes Scott College
Derek Mosley, Auburn Avenue Research Library on African American Culture and History
Alena Pirok, Georgia Southern University
Michael Rose, Atlanta History Center
Louise Shaw, David J Sencer CDC Museum
Jessica VanLanduyt, Atlanta History Center
Kathryn Wilson, Georgia State University
Holly Smith, Spelman College

View Details